End-of-Year Awards

At each year's commencement ceremony, the Humphrey School recognizes students from each master's program for their academic excellence. Instructors and teaching assistants are also recognized for their contributions to the Humphrey School learning community.  

To nominate a student, instructor, or group for an end-of-year award, view the full list of awards, which includes application criteria and deadlines, voting instructions, and contact information.

View photos from the 2019 Awards Brunch

2020 End-of-Year Awardees

End-of-year awards were presented as part of virtual commencement ceremonies on May 16, 2020.

Galen Ryan, American Institute of Certified Planners Award

Meredith Benesh, Richard S. Bolan Urban and Regional Planning Fellowship

Shannon Engstrom, Lukermann Award

Planning Student Organization, Jernberg Award for Student Life

Shannon Engstrom, Anindya Panda, Lauren Fisher, and Megan Reineccius, Lloyd B. Short Award for Best Master’s Paper

Alana Petersen, Gary M. DeCramer Public Leadership Award

Nicole Chamberlin and Aaron Williamson, Master of Public Affairs Paper Awards

Katie Burke, Tonje Boerresen, Christina Licari, and Hannah Shireman, Diversity Paper Award

Sarah Allis, Joy Hammer, and Stephanie Hallgren, Freeman Stassen Award for International Activities

Katie Burke, Student Leadership Award

Maggie Rogers, STEP Impact Award

Jane O'Malley, STEP Paper Award

Sara Parke, Edward A. Burdick Legislative Award

Sasha Hulsey, Kshitiz Karki, Olivia Reyes, and Alyssa Scott, Class of 1999 Paul and Sheila Wellstone Award for Public Action and Academic Excellence

Tyler Boesch, Teaching Assistant of the Year

Carrie Oelberger, Core Course Instructor of the Year

Geoff Maas, Instructor of the Year