Dean's Advisory Council

This distinguished group of community advisors provides advice and counsel to the dean and helps the Humphrey School strengthen its connections with the community.
(*denotes Humphrey School alumnus/alumna)

John S. Adams
Emeritus Professor, Geography, Planning & Public Affairs, University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Jason Adkins
Executive Director, Minnesota Catholic Conference
St. Paul, Minnesota

Alison Bakken
Global Head of Enterprise Technology, Thomson Reuters
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Peter Bell
Former Chair, Metropolitan Council
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Laura Bishop (Chair)
Commissioner, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
St. Paul, Minnesota

Laura Bloomberg
Dean, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Mike Christenson
Director, Urban Investors Program, Augsburg University
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Rob Clark
Vice President, Global Communications and Corporate Marketing, Medtronic
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Jay Cowles
President, Unity Avenue Associates 
Minneapolis, Minnesota

The Honorable David Durenberger
Former United States Senator
St. Paul, Minnesota

Michael O. Freeman
County Attorney, Hennepin County
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Joan Anderson Growe (Honorary)
Former Secretary of State, State of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Laura Brod Hameed
Executive Director, Columbus Children's Foundation
Minneapolis, Minnesota

MayKao Hang*
Dean, College of Health, University of Saint Thomas
St. Paul, Minnesota

Trista Harris*
President, FutureGood Consulting
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Cecily Hines
Former Vice President and General Counsel, Boston Scientific International
Minneapolis, Minnesota

The Honorable William Howard (Honorary)
Judge, Hennepin County District Court
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Hubert H. Humphrey III
Former Senior Liaison Officer, Office of Financial Protection for Older Americans,
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Lorie Humphrey
Senior Business Partner, Human Resources, Thrivent
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Jim Jacobson
Senior Vice President and General Counsel, Medica
Minneapolis, Minnesota

James A. Johnson
Chairman, Johnson Capital Partners
Washington, DC

Eric Jolly
President and CEO, Saint Paul and Minnesota Foundations
St. Paul, Minnesota

Jay Kiedrowski*
Senior Fellow, Humphrey School of Public Affairs
Minneapolis, Minnesota

JT Kruger
President, Humphrey School Public Affairs Student Association
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Peggy Leppik
Former State Representative, Minnesota 
Golden Valley, Minnesota

Kyle Makarios
Political Director, United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America 
Washington, DC

Ted Mondale
New Business and Government Relations, Foundation Technologies
Minneapolis, Minnesota

The Honorable Walter F. Mondale
Senior Counsel, Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Former United States Vice President
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Kiyoshi Nakasaka*
President and CEO, Washington CORE, LLC
Bethesda, Maryland

Kim Nelson
Retired Senior Vice President of External Relations, General Mills
Golden Valley, Minnesota

Thomas Nides
Vice Chairman, Morgan Stanley
New York, New York

Kathleen O'Brien
Former Vice President, University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Mitch Pearlstein
Founder and Former President, Center of the American Experiment
Minneapolis, Minnesota

The Honorable Dean Phillips
United States Representative, 3rd District of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Judy Poferl*
Senior Vice President, Corporate Secretary, and Executive Services
Xcel Energy
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Lois Quam
Chief Executive Officer, Pathfinder International
Boston, Massachusetts

Isaac Reyes
Vice President of Government Affairs, Target
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Dr. Sheila Riggs
Chair, Department of Primary Dental Care, School of Dentistry, University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Sharon Sayles Belton
Vice President, Community Relations and Government Affairs, Thomson Reuters
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Sheldon L. Schreiberg
Senior Counsel, Lobel, Novins & Lamont, LLP
Washington, DC

Katie Clark Sieben
Director, Cargill Foundation
Commissioner, Metropolitan Airports Commission
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Ed Spencer Jr.
Founder and Chairman, Affinity Capital Management
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Paul Stembler*
Principal Consultant, RSP Analysts
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Tom Swain
Former Mayor, City of Lilydale
Former Executive Vice President, The Saint Paul Companies/Travelers
Lilydale, Minnesota

The Honorable John R. Tunheim (Former Chair)
Chief U.S. District Judge, District of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Ruth Usem
Philanthropist and Community Leader
Minneapolis, Minnesota

The Honorable Vin Weber
Former United States Representative, 2nd District of Minnesota
Washington, DC

Dan Whalen*
Philanthropist, Whalen Family Foundation
Oakland, California

Paul Williams*
President and CEO, Project for Pride in Living
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Andrea Wood*
Head of Social Impact, Best Buy
Richfield, Minnesota