Humphrey School News

Humphrey School to Present Public Leadership Honors

May 2, 2017—>15th Annual Awards Ceremony Recognizes Recipients for Strengthening Communities

The Humphrey School of Public Affairs is pleased to announce that four distinguished recipients will be recognized at the 2017 Hubert H. Humphrey Public Leadership Awards ceremony on June 28, 2017. 

The Public Leadership Awards, established in honor of the Humphrey School’s namesake, Hubert H. Humphrey, honor individuals who have contributed to the common good through leadership and service. See the list of previous award recipients here

Purchase tickets

This year’s awards recognize remarkable leaders who have devoted their lives to helping to strengthen communities by empowering people, building coalitions, and developing capacity of local institutions within communities in Minnesota and around the globe.

2017 recipients are:

Linda Thomas-GreenfieldLinda Thomas-Greenfield, former Assistant Secretary of State for African Affairs and former director general of the Foreign Service, for her more than three decades of work promoting the values of humanitarianism and responsible global engagementThor Companies logoThor Companies, for its innovative approach to economic development, bringing opportunity and revitalization to North Minneapolis through strategic partnerships and investmentsTom SwainTom Swain, former Lilydale mayor and former University of Minnesota vice president, for his long and distinguished life of active citizenship, and his commitment to education and government, developing opportunities for future civic leadersMonica MeyerMonica Meyer (MPP '99), Alumni Recipient, executive director, OutFront Minnesota, for her leadership in grassroots organizing and in political strategy and advocacy, building coalitions among community activists around Minnesota 

The program will also feature a special recognition of Dean Eric Schwartzwho will be in attendance. We look forward to this chance to thank him for his service to the School, as he steps down to assume the presidency of Refugees International, a global refugee protection organization in Washington, DC. 

Award recipients will be honored at a gala dinner on Wednesday, June 28, 2017, at the McNamara Alumni Center, 200 Oak Street S.E. in Minneapolis. The reception begins at 5:30 p.m., followed by dinner and program. Proceeds support the Humphrey Public Leaders Fellowship.

Thank you to our sponsors: 


        Medtronic logo


Target logo


Best Buy logo  Cargill logo         General Mills logo


North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters

Sponsorship Information

Learn more about sponsorships here, or contact Cathy O’Rourke, Major Gifts Officer, 612-301-2102,


Office of Communications

Humphrey School of Public Affairs
300G Humphrey School
301 19th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55455