Humphrey School News—April 1, 2016

Humphrey School to Present Public Leadership Honors

14th Annual Awards Ceremony Recognizes Individuals for Building Hope and Opportunity for Future Generations

The Humphrey School of Public Affairs is pleased to announce that five distinguished individuals will receive the 2016 Hubert H. Humphrey Public Leadership Award at a ceremony on June 6, 2016. 

We are delighted that former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright will join us for this event, to present the Public Leadership Award to former Ambassador Thomas Pickering. Albright is a 2004 recipient of the award. 

The Public Leadership Awards, established in honor of the Humphrey School’s namesake, Hubert H. Humphrey, honor individuals who have contributed to the common good through leadership and service. See the list of previous award recipients here. This year’s awards recognize remarkable leaders who have dedicated their lives to addressing the world’s most pressing problems, and to building hope and opportunity for future generations. 

2016 recipients are:  

Lisa JacksonLisa Jackson, Vice President of Environment, Policy, and Social Initiatives, Apple, for her pursuit of sustainability and equity, and responsible stewardship of our environment

Thomas PickeringThomas Pickering, Former Ambassador to the United Nations, for his lifelong commitment to addressing global challenges and promoting peace and security through diplomacy

Alan PageAlan Page, Retired Minnesota Supreme Court Justice, for his esteemed career in the judiciary and his tireless promotion of equal opportunities for students of color through the Page Education Foundation

David DurenbergerDavid Durenberger, Former U.S. Senator, for his promotion of bipartisan solutions to our most challenging social issues, and civility in the public discourse

Sia HerSia Her (MPP ’07), Alumni Recipient, Executive Director, Minnesota State Council on Asian Pacific Minnesotans, for her work to strengthen and build a more inclusive community across socioeconomic, gender, and generational lines

Award recipients will be honored at a gala dinner on Monday, June 6, 2016, at the McNamara Alumni Center, 200 Oak Street S.E. in Minneapolis. The reception begins at 5:30 p.m., followed by dinner and program. Proceeds support the Humphrey Public Leaders Fellowship.

Thank you to our sponsors: 


Target logo


Best Buy logo           gm


Minnesota Vikings Football, LLC

Katharine and Dan Whalen



Office of Communications

Humphrey School of Public Affairs
300G Humphrey School
301 19th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55455