Humphrey School News—October 12, 2015

Humphrey School Administrators and Faculty Engagement and Leadership Roles in NASPAA, APPAM, and Other Public Affairs Professional Associations

The Humphrey School of Public Affairs is deeply committed to strengthening the public and international affairs profession, and administrators and faculty have increased our participation in the leadership of professional associations in the fields of public affairs, international affairs, management and planning.   Several senior leaders currently serve in leadership roles with the Network of Schools of Public Policy, Affairs, and Administration (NASPAA); the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM); the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (ACSP); and the Association of Professional Schools of International Affairs (ASPIA).  The School also hosted the most recent biennial conference of the Public Management Research Association. (PMRA)

Laura Bloomberg NASPAA: Associate Dean Laura Bloomberg has been nominated to the executive council of NASPAA. The 17-member governing body is elected by the membership for staggered three-year terms. Bloomberg also serves as a member of NASPAA’s Commission on Peer Review and Accreditation (COPRA), which is the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA)-recognized accreditation body for graduate degree programs in public policy, administration, and affairs, globally. COPRA consists of 14 members, 13 of which are academic professionals and one who is a current practitioner.


Jodi Sandfort APPAM: Professor Jodi Sandfort serves as a member of APPAM’s Policy Council. The Policy Council is the Association's leadership team and is responsible for setting policy and strategy for the association. It currently consists of four elected cohorts serving staggered, four-year terms of office; APPAM's individual members elect three new people to the Council each year while APPAM's institutional members elect one person to serve on the Council.


Carissa Slotterback ACSP: Professor Carissa Schively Slotterback serves as a member of ACSP’s Governing Board as a U.S. regional representative for the central region. The Governing Board is empowered to transact all routine business not specifically reserved for action by the Association. Regional representatives serve for two-year terms. 


Amy LuitjensAPSIA: Director of Admissions Amy Luitjens has been elected as the new admissions chair for APSIA of which the Humphrey School has been a member since the late 1990s. She will work with the APSIA executive director throughout the year and assists with admissions-related efforts, planning, and programming.


Eric SchwartzAPSIA: Dean Eric P. Schwartz serves as member of the executive committee for APSIA. APSIA comprises 60+ schools in the Americas, Asia, and Europe dedicated to the improvement of professional education in international affairs and the advancement thereby of international understanding, prosperity, peace, and security. Members work to promote excellence in professional, international affairs education worldwide by sharing information and ideas among member schools and with other higher education institutions, the international affairs community, and the general public.


The Humphrey School also served as host school for the 13th Biennial Public Management Research Association (PMRA) Conference, the largest conference to date. More than 400 scholars gathered from around the world and nearly 300 papers were presented during the multi-day conference at the University of Minnesota. In addition, organizers expanded the number and deepened the content in the pre-conference sessions. Six half and full-day sessions were offered in research and teaching methodologies before the main conference began.

Office of Communications

Humphrey School of Public Affairs
300G Humphrey School
301 19th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55455