Humphrey School News—February 13, 2019

Advocates for Equity, Free Speech Are 2019 Humphrey Leadership Awardees

17th annual awards recognize inclusion in advancing the common good


Four glass Public Leadership Awards placed on a table
The 2019 Hubert H. Humphrey Public Leadership Award recipients will be honored at a gala dinner and ceremony on April 23, 2019.

The Humphrey School of Public Affairs is recognizing national civil rights and women’s advocate Johnnetta Betsch Cole, longtime Minnesota Public Radio host Gary Eichten, and Minnesota Air National Guard Brigadier General Sandy Best for their commitment to advancing the public good through equity and inclusion, with the 2019 Hubert H. Humphrey Public Leadership Award. They will receive their awards at a ceremony on April 23, 2019.

The award was established in honor of the Humphrey School’s namesake, Hubert H. Humphrey, to recognize individuals who have contributed to the common good through leadership and service. This year’s awardees join a prestigious list of recipients that includes Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, Vice President Walter Mondale, Pulitzer-Prize winning journalist Thomas Friedman, and civil rights leader Vernon Jordan. See the list of previous award recipients.

This year’s awardees share an uncommon belief in human potential, and use their voices to lift up those around them. They exemplify the kind of leadership the Humphrey School hopes to celebrate and amplify: one of stimulating hope and opportunity in a changing world.



Head shot of Johnnetta Betsch Cole, recipient of a 2019 Public Leadership AwardJOHNNETTA BETSCH COLE, Former director of the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of African Art and first African American female president of Spelman College, for her outstanding legacy as an advocate for education, equity, and justice

Head shot of Gary Eichten, recipient of 2019 Public Leadership AwardGARY EICHTEN, Minnesota Public Radio News editor-at-large and retired program host, for a lifetime of cultivating vital public conversations and advancing free speech

Head shot of Brig. Gen. Sandy Best, recipient of a 2019 Public Leadership AwardBRIGADIER GENERAL SANDY BEST (Humphrey Policy Fellow ’12), Chief of staff and first female general in the Minnesota Air National Guard, for breaking barriers and serving the state with an inclusive leadership style, and for demonstrating a deep ethic of giving back to the community

In addition, Humphrey School supporter and University of Minnesota alumnus James A. Johnson will be recognized at the ceremony for his decades of dedication to the University. Johnson (BA, political science, ‘66; Honorary Doctor of Laws, ‘06), is chair of Johnson Capital Partners, and chair emeritus of The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and The Brookings Institution.

The recipients will be honored at a gala dinner on Tuesday, April 23, 2019, at the McNamara Alumni Center, 200 Oak Street S.E. in Minneapolis. The reception begins at 5:30 p.m., followed by dinner and program. Proceeds support the Humphrey Public Leaders Fellowship.


Premier Sponsor

Target Corporate Logo

PATRON Sponsors

Logos for Hill+Knowlton Strategies, Best Buy, Dominium Foundation, and Medtronic


  • Laura Bishop, Chuck Weber, and Ruth Usem 
  • Cargill
  • Dorsey & Whitney LLP
  • Thomas Nides
  • North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters
  • Polaris
  • Lois Quam and Arshad Mohammed
  • Thomson Reuters
  • Dan and Katharine Whalen

For information about sponsorships, contact: Gwendolyn Freed, Humphrey School director of development, (612) 625-9588;

For media inquiries, contact: Melanie Sommer, communications manager, 612-624-3566;

Office of Communications

Humphrey School of Public Affairs
300G Humphrey School
301 19th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55455