Humphrey School News—August 26, 2015

38 Minnesota Leaders Selected as Humphrey Policy Fellows

Minneapolis, MN (08/26/15)—The Humphrey School of Public Affairs has named 38 Minnesotans as Policy Fellow for its 2015–2016 program. Selected through a competitive application process, Fellows will engage in a unique educational experience designed to help individuals hone their leadership skills, build their professional network, and define their role in the policy process. 

The Policy Fellows program invites participants to develop a greater understanding of policy and public affairs, and to incorporate this new knowledge into their leadership roles across Minnesota. Fellows come from across the state of Minnesota and represent business, nonprofit, and government sectors and meet once a month as a group between September and early June. They also travel to Washington, DC, for a multi-day study trip with prominent elected officials and national leaders in public affairs. 

"Policy Fellows are the bridge builders of our civic life,” says Professor Lawrence Jacobs, who directs the program. “From a variety of backgrounds and perspectives, they come together to find new ways to talk about and address our most challenging public problems."

Vice President Walter Mondale and Geri Joseph, award-winning journalist and former Ambassador to the Netherlands, began the Policy Fellows program in 1990. Former congressmen Tim Penny and Vin Weber co-directed it for more than a decade. Its current director, Jacobs, is the Walter F. and Joan Mondale Chair for Political Studies at the Humphrey School. 

This year marks the program’s 25th anniversary. Former directors, alumni, and friends will convene for a celebration at the TCF Bank Stadium on September 16, 2015. More information here

2015-2016 Policy Fellows

Amira Adawe, Planner and Health Educator, Saint Paul - Ramsey County Public Health

 Jennifer Andrashko, Assistant Professor, Minnesota State University, Mankato

 Ashraf Ashkar, SNAP - Ed Educator, University of Minnesota Extension

Andrea BaumgardnerProgram Associate, The Barry Foundation

 JoAnn Birkholz, Foundation Director, Medica

Kate Brauman, Lead Scientist, Global Water Initiative, Institute on the Environment, University of Minnesota

Peter BrickweddeDirector, Government Affairs, Minnesota Department of Commerce

 Erin DavenportAttorney, Dorsey & Whitney LLP

Christine DeLarbreCommunity Planning and Development Representative, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Community Planning and Development

Jess Anna GloverAttorney, Education Minnesota

Qamar Hassan, Nurse, Hennepin County Medical Center

Scott HawksState Public Affairs Officer, Minnesota National Guard

Josi Hellier, Consultant, Target Corporation

Elizabeth HoffmanPhysician Assistant, Cardiac Electrophysiology, Allina Health, Minneapolis Heart Institute

Laura Janke, Vice President, Municipal Finance, RBC Capital Markets

Benjamin JohnsonLegislative Coordinator, Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs

Elizabeth Roosevelt Johnston, Assistant County Attorney, Hennepin County Attorney's Office

Mustafa JumaleCommunity Representative, Office of Congressman Keith Ellison

Darla Kashian, Financial Advisor, First Vice-President, RBC Wealth Management

 Matthew Koncar, Police Officer, St Paul Police Department

 Laura Larson, Committee Administrator, Greater Minnesota Economic & Workforce Development Committee, Minnesota House of Representatives, Republican Caucus

Teri LarsonCoordinator of Analytic Services, Applied Policy Research, Inc.

 Irma Márquez Trapero, Student Recruitment Coordinator, Hiawatha Academies

 Erin Rath Moos, Senior Group Manager, Enterprise Risk Management, Target Corporation

Kirsten Morell, Public Affairs Senior Manager, Best Buy

Ryan Mulso, Outreach Director, Educators 4 Excellence

Maxwell Page, Judicial Law Clerk, Hennepin County District Court

 Chad Phillips, Precision Agriculture Manager, Crop Production Services

Rinal Ray, Public Policy Advocate, Minnesota Council of Nonprofits

Kori Redepenning, Vice President of Mission Advancement, Minnesota Alliance With Youth

 Melissa Reeder, Director of Information Technology Services, Carver County

Darryl Scarborough, Accountant, State of Minnesota

 Joseph Sharkey, Deputy Director of Strategic Relations, Minnesota Army National Guard - Active Guard Reserve

Anni Simons, Government Relations Specialist, Fredrikson and Byron, P.A.

Ryan Strack, Manager of Homeless and Highly Mobile Student Services, Minneapolis Public Schools

Jasper L. Tran, Intellectual Property Associate, Faegre Baker Daniels

 Lisa Wagor, Public Affairs Manager, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota

Alfonso Wenker, Director of Program Strategy & Racial Equity, Minnesota Council on Foundations

Office of Communications

Humphrey School of Public Affairs
300G Humphrey School
301 19th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55455