Indigenous Women Have Always Been Leaders

Every year on March 8, the world celebrates the social, economic, cultural, and political achievements of women. Join Tiwahe Foundation, Native Governance Center, and the University of Minnesota Humphrey School of Public Affairs as we celebrate International Women’s Day 2019. The theme of this year’s celebration is: Indigenous Women Have Always Been Leaders.

  • Keynote Speaker: Lourdes Tibán, former Ecuadorian Congressional Member and member of the U.N. Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues.
  • Intergenerational Indigenous Women's Leadership panel: Sharon Day, Vanessa Goodthunder, Alexis Davis, and Jaidyn Probst, with moderator Brooke LaFloe (Tiwahe Foundation)
  • Indigenous Women Political Leaders panel: Ruth Buffalo via Skype (the first Native woman elected to the North Dakota House), Melanie Benjamin (Chief Executive of the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe), Karen Diver (Former Special Assistant to President Obama on Native American Affairs), Justice Anne Mckeig (First Native American to serve on the Minnesota Supreme Court), and  Mary Kunesh-Podein (Native American Representative serving in the Minnesota House), with moderator Jayme Davis (Native Governance Center)
  • We’ll conclude the day with a truth and healing blanket exercise led by Prairie Rose Seminole.

View conference details and co-sponsors

Watch a recording of the conference

Image of Ruth Buffalo by Lea Black Photography
March 8, 2019
8:30 AM to 5:00 PM
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
301 19th Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55455