17th Annual Hubert H. Humphrey Public Leadership Awards

The Hubert H. Humphrey Public Leadership Awards presented by the Humphrey School of Public Affairs each year honor individuals, organizations, and corporations that have contributed to the common good through leadership and service.

Established by the Humphrey School in 2003, the awards have recognized 71 recipients during annual dinner presentations that have raised more than $1.5  million for student scholarships.

2019 Public Leadership Awards
Please join us for the 17th annual Hubert H. Humphrey Public Leadership Awards on Tuesday, April 23, 2019, at 5:30 p.m., at McNamara Alumni Center.

Individual tickets ($150)
Ticket includes reception, dinner, and program. Proceeds support Humphrey School student scholarships.

The 2019 Public Leadership Award recipients are:
JOHNNETTA BETSCH COLE, Former director of the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of African Art and first African American female president of Spelman College, for her outstanding legacy as an advocate for education, equity, and justice
GARY EICHTEN, Minnesota Public Radio News editor-at-large and retired program host, for a lifetime of cultivating vital public conversations and advancing free speech
BRIGADIER GENERAL SANDY BEST (Humphrey Policy Fellow ’12), Chief of staff and first female general in the Minnesota Air National Guard, for breaking barriers and serving the state with an inclusive leadership style, and for demonstrating a deep ethic of giving back to the community

Read more about this year's awardees

April 23, 2019
5:30 PM to 8:15 PM
McNamara Alumni Center
200 SE Oak St
Minneapolis, MN 55455