University of Minnesota
myU OneStop

The Humphrey School of Public Affairs is the University of
Minnesota's school of policy and planning.

Local Government Innovation Award winners announced

The Humphrey School of Public Affairs and InCommons are pleased to announce Dakota County Community Services, Irondale High School of Mounds View Public Schools, and the City of St Paul as finalists in the sixth annual Local Government Innovation Awards.  A public vote will determine which one of these finalists will receive a $25,000 grant to continue innovating.  In addition to the three finalists, 15 other local government entries will receive awards for their innovations!  Go to and click on the “Winners” tab located in the middle of the home page to check out the ways the finalists and award recipients have been making Minnesota better by doing things differently.

Everyone is invited to join us in helping select the $25,000 grant recipient by attending one of four community conversations to learn about local government innovation. These events are an opportunity to talk with local government officials and to connect with others interested in supporting and improving the work that our schools, cities, and counties do every day.  Everyone who attends a community conversation in December will have a chance to vote for which of the three finalists should receive the $25,000 grant. Please join us!

December 11 with the Humphrey School: 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Humphrey School of Public Affairs in Minneapolis. RSVP by December 9 at

December 13 with Dakota County Community Services: 9:30 to 11:30 a.m. at the Rosemount Community Center. RSVP by December 11 at

December 18 with Irondale High School: 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at the TIES Building in Saint Paul. RSVP by December 16 at

December 19 with the City of Saint Paul’s EMS Academy: 2 to 4 p.m. at Fire Station 51 in Saint Paul. RSVP by December 17 at

Refreshments will be provided.  In addition, all attendees will be entered into a drawing for a chance to win a $50 gift certificate to a local restaurant! To learn more about the Awards or to read about the finalists’ innovations, go to

The Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota is pleased to partner with the Association of MN Counties, the League of Minnesota Cities, the MN School Boards Association, and InCommons to conduct the sixth annual Local Government Innovation Awards. This year’s awards have been made possible with the support of InCommons, an initiative of the Bush Foundation that inspires, supports, and connects community-powered problem-solving.